Chosen

img_1553.jpg

CHOSEN

Who am I that You would live in me,

That You so near to my heart know my hurt before I do?

Who am I that You would choose me?

Out of all the trillions of possibilities from my parents union –

It was me you chose.

 

You rejoiced with my first cry and celebrated my first words;

You applauded my first song and inhaled my first prayer;

You stood by as I took my first steps, waiting patiently while I struggled –

Insisting I could do it all myself.

You proudly cheered my victories, knowing they were Yours.

When I failed or fell You wept for me, even though the fault was my own.

And when the ones I trusted, even more than You, those closest to me –

Betrayed, Rejected, Forgot, Gave up…

Still You stayed.

 

Who am I that You would choose and watch and wait and stay,

When all I can offer in return is a heart crushed, defeated?

A heart You loved imperfect,

A heart You witnessed bruised,

A heart now broken open, uncluttered and emptied…

A heart with space for You alone to dwell.

“I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart…”  Jeremiah 1:5 (NLT)

Copyright 2013 Sheila Zia